Voters to elect new mayors in Miami, Miami Beach


Voters in Miami and Miami Beach will elect new mayors Tuesday, while voters in Hialeah will determine whether to re-elect their current mayor.

Elections are being held in four Miami-Dade County municipalities.

Miami voters are deciding between Williams Armbrister, Christian Canache, Cynthia Jaquith and Francis Suarez to replace outgoing Mayor Tomas Regalado.

Suarez appears to be the favorite. He has been a city commissioner since 2009.

Miami Beach voters are also choosing a new mayor to replace Philip Levine, who recently announced that he is running for governor. The candidates to replace him are Kenneth Bereski, Dan Gelber, Daniel Kahn and June Savage.

Gelber's name may sound familiar. He served in the Florida Legislature from 2000 to 2010, spending time in both the House and Senate. The Democrat unsuccessfully ran for attorney general in 2010.

The other three candidates have never served in public office. Bereski is a businessman who has lived in Miami Beach since 2005, Kahn is a New York transplant who has worked in Miami Beach's hospitality industry for more than a decade and Savage is a real estate agent.

Hialeah Mayor Carlos Hernandez is seeking re-election. He is challenged by political newcomers Juan Santana and Tania Garcia.

Santana previously ran for mayor in 2013, while Garcia was a previous candidate for City Council in 2015.

Homestead voters are electing a vice mayor and two city council members. Elvis Maldonado is a current councilman seeking to become vice mayor. He's running against councilman Stephen Shelley.

Other high-profile races include a Miami Beach ballot question asking voters to decide whether to ban outdoor alcohol sales on Ocean Drive after 2 a.m. and the race between Miami Beach commissioner candidates Mark Samuelian and Rafael Velasquez.

This BBSNews article was syndicated from News | WPLG, and written by News | WPLG. Read the original article here.

This BBSNews article originally appeared on News | WPLG.