Cherokee Students Named 2017 All-State Scholars

Chuck Garrett, executive vice president of Cherokee Nation Businesses; Gideon Moore, Muldrow High School; Jacob Taylor, Broken Arrow High School; Chelsea Anderson, Warner High School; Ann Grue, Welch High School; and Sandy Garrett, former state superintendent for public instruction and foundation trustee.

Cherokee Nation citizens honored among Oklahoma’s top high school seniors

Published June 6, 2017

TULSA – The Oklahoma Foundation for Excellence recently honored Oklahoma’s top 100 high school seniors. Five Cherokee students were named 2017 Academic All-State Scholars and received scholarships in recognition of their academic achievements.

The 2017 Academic All-State class hails from 77 schools in 68 Oklahoma school districts. This year’s honorees were selected from hundreds of nominations during the rigorous academic competition.

“Becoming an All-State Scholar is quite the accomplishment,” said Chuck Garrett, executive vice president of Cherokee Nation Businesses. “We are proud to partner with the foundation to honor these scholars for their achievements and to help support them in continuing their education.”

The foundation honored the state’s top students, as well as five outstanding Oklahoma public educators, during its 31stAcademics Awards Banquet. The annual gala, which is attended by nearly 1,000 people and aired on public television, is a statewide tribute honoring the best in Oklahoma’s public schools.

With support from scholarship sponsors such as Cherokee Nation Businesses, the Oklahoma Foundation for Excellence presented merit-based scholarships of $1,000 each and medallions to 100 Academic All-State Scholars.

“We very much appreciate Cherokee Nation Businesses serving as the All-State Scholarship Partner for all five of the Cherokee students who were named Academic All-Staters,” said Emily Stratton, executive director of the Oklahoma Foundation for Excellence. “It is remarkable to have so many All-Staters from one class who share the same tribal heritage. Cherokee Nation must be very proud.”

The scholars are nominated by their principals or superintendents and selected based on academic achievement, extracurricular activities and community involvement, as well as an essay submitted by each nominee.

The Oklahoma Foundation for Excellence is a nonprofit, charitable organization founded in 1985 by then U.S. Senator David L. Boren to recognize and encourage academic excellence in Oklahoma’s public schools. Through its Academic Awards Program, the foundation has awarded more than $4.5 million in merit-based scholarships and cash awards to honor outstanding graduating seniors as Academic All-Staters and exceptional educators as Medal for Excellence winners.

For more information on the Academics Awards Banquet or the Oklahoma Foundation for Excellence, visit

List of 2017 Cherokee All-State Scholars:

Warner, Okla.

Chelsea Anderson, daughter of Clue and Lisa Anderson

Welch, Okla.

Ann Marie Grue, daughter of Sandra Grue

Muldrow, Okla.

Gideon Moore, son of Randy and Heather Moore

Broken Arrow, Okla.

Jacob Ross Taylor, son of Greg and Jill Taylor

Oologah, Okla.

Brook Wigginton, daughter of Brian and Nicole Wigginton

For individual photos of the Cherokee All-State Scholars, visit

The post Cherokee Students Named 2017 All-State Scholars appeared first on Native News Online.

This BBSNews article was syndicated from Native News Online, and written by Native News Online Staff. Read the original article here.

This BBSNews article originally appeared on Native News Online.