The 95th Annual Santa Fe Indian Market Announces Best of Show Winners

vcsPRAsset_531907_103778_8bbc35fa-e7e4-4cc6-89b7-37e395298f79_0Adrian Nasafotie (Hopi) is awarded Best of Show at Santa Fe Indian Market 2016 Awards Luncheon in the IV Pueblo Wooden Carvings Classification

Published August 20, 2016

SANTA FE – Santa Fe Indian Market is pleased to announce this year’s Best of Show, Best of Class, and special award winners in a variety of classifications. For 95 years, Santa Fe Indian Market, the world’s largest and most prestigious Indian art market, has awarded Best of Show winners to the nation’s most exceptional artists in a variety of juried categories.

Over 40 judges, experts in various mediums, spent all day Thursday, August 18, reviewing and critiquing this year’s entries and determining the winners. The announcement of the Best of Show, Best of Class, and Special Award winners was made publicly at the Best of Show Luncheon on Friday afternoon.

This year’s overall Best of Show winner is Adrian Nasafotie (Hopi), for his woodcarving entitledPurification. The Dobkin Family Foundation generously underwrites the 2016 Best of Show Award of $10,000.

All of the Best of Show winners’ phenomenal artwork will be available this weekend during Santa Fe Indian Market on the Plaza in downtown Santa Fe.

This year’s Best of Class winners by classification are:

Class I:  Jewelry

Benson Manygoats (Navajo)

Class II: Pottery

Al Qöyawayma (Hopi)

Class III: Painting, Drawing, Graphics & Photography

Jason Garcia (Santa Clara Pueblo)

Class IV: Wooden Pueblo Figurative Carving & Sculpture (Best of Show)

Adrian Nasafotie (Hopi)

Class V: Sculpture

Ed Natiya (Navajo)

Class VI:  Textiles

Berdina Charley (Navajo)

Class VII: Diverse Arts

Leonard Gene (Navajo)

Class VIII: Beadwork & Quillwork

Joyce and Juanita Growing Thunder Fogarty (Assiniboine/Sioux)

Class IX: Youth (artists aged 17 and under)

Nicklaus Stanaland (Navajo)

Class X: Moving Images

Jordan Dresser (Northern Arapaho), Julianna Brannum (Comanche), Mat Hames

Class XI: Basketry

Kelly Church (Odawa/Ojibwe)

2016 Special Award Winners:

Bernard Ewell Innovation Award

Carla Hemlock (Mohawk)

First National Bank of Santa Fe Youth Award 

Quahada Burgess (Comanche)

AARP Tradition Award

Jamie Okuma (Shoshone Bannock/Luiseno)

Helen Naha Memorial Award for Hopi Pottery

Deborah Clashin (Hopi)

Western Art Collector Magazine Editor’s Choice Award for Excellence

Upton Ethelbah Jr. (Santa Clara Pueblo/White Mountain Apache)

Native American Art Magazine Editor’s Choice Award for Excellence

Jackie Bread (Blackfeet)

“Santa Fe Indian Market juried over 1,000 incredibly talented and diverse Native artists to participate in this year’s market,” said Dallin Maybee, SWAIA chief operating officer. “I want to extend my congratulations to the 2016 Best of Show winners. It’s exciting to see how Indian Market keeps evolving to attract established and new artists from over 230 tribes.”

The post The 95th Annual Santa Fe Indian Market Announces Best of Show Winners appeared first on Native News Online.

This BBSNews article was syndicated from Native News Online, and written by Native News Online Staff. Read the original article here.

This BBSNews article originally appeared on Native News Online.