Recount doesn’t change results in Las Cruces City Council races

A recount held Wednesday didn’t change the Nov. 3 Las Cruces municipal election results, so Jack Eakman and Kasandra Gandara remain the newest members of the City Council.

Las Cruces City Hall

Heath Haussamen /

Las Cruces City Hall

Eakman defeated Richard Hall by 11 votes in the District 4 race. Gandara defeated Eli Guzman by 18 votes in the District 1 race.

The recount didn’t change the results at all, the city announced Wednesday afternoon in a news release.

Eakman and Gandara were sworn in Monday. Hall and Guzman had asked for a recount of about 90 percent of ballots cast.

A prior version of this post incorrectly said Guzman was sworn in Monday.

This BBSNews article was syndicated from, and written by Heath Haussamen. Read the original article here.