Candidates file to run in Las Cruces municipal election

As expected, three candidates filed paperwork Tuesday to run for Las Cruces mayor in the Nov. 6 election. Several people also filed to run for three open city council seats and a judgeship.

Las Cruces City Hall

Heath Haussamen /

Las Cruces City Hall

Mayor Ken Miyagishima filed to run for a third term in office.

Outgoing Councilor Miguel Silva and local businesswoman Eugenia Montoya Ortega filed paperwork to run against Miyagishima, according to a news release from the city.

Three candidates — Kasandra A. Gandara, Steve D. Calderazzo, and Melecio Eli Guzman — filed paperwork to run for the District 1 seat on the city council, which Silva is vacating.

In District 2, Gregory Z. Smith filed paperwork to run for re-election. Philip A. VanVeen filed to challenge him.

Three candidates filed to run for the District 4 seat on the city council being vacated by Nathan Small. They are Gilbert Vasquez, Richard A. Hall, and Jack Eakman.

Municipal Judge Kieran Ryan filed to run for the presiding judgeship on the city’s court — a seat being vacated by Melissa Miller-Byrnes. Attorney William M. Kinsella also filed to run for the judgeship.

The city clerk’s office has five working days to certify that those who filed to run meet the qualifications to appear on the ballot. Certified candidates will draw for ballot position at 5 p.m. on Sept. 29.

To be eligible to vote, Las Crucens must be registered by Oct. 6. Early voting starts Oct. 7.

As has reported, the city plans to post candidates’ reports of fundraising and spending online for the first time this election cycle.

This BBSNews article was syndicated from, and written by Heath Haussamen. Read the original article here.